murder in the mountains

Celebrating murder and mayhem — the fictional kind — at nine-thousand feet

October 29 – 31, 2021 | Crested Butte, Colorado

A thrilling weekend celebrating all things murder and mystery, including author conversations, panel discussions, mystery writing workshops, true-crime podcast discussions, youth forensics workshop, “Noir in the Bar” events, murder mystery dinner, and more!

2021 Lineup

Additional authors + schedule TBA

David Heska Wanbli Weiden

David Heska Wanbli Weiden, an enrolled citizen of the Sicangu Lakota nation, is author of the novel WINTER COUNTS (Ecco/HarperCollins, 2020).  WINTER COUNTS, an IndieBound bestseller, is a New York Times Book Review Editors’ Choice and was named one of the Best Books of 2020 by NPR, Publishers Weekly, Library Journal, Amazon, Sun SentinelLitReactor, CrimeReads, Deadly Pleasures, Air Mail, MysteryPeople, and BOLO Books.  The book was also selected as an Amazon Best Mystery and Thriller of the year, an Indie Next pick, Best Noir Fiction and Best Debut of the Year as well as a Notable Selection for Best Crime Novel by CrimeReads.  The novel was a main selection of the Book of the Month Club, Best of the Month by Apple Books, and was the November choice of the BuzzFeed Book Club and the AWP Virtual Book Club.

WINTER COUNTS was nominated for Best Debut Novel and Best Mystery & Thriller in the 2020 Goodreads Choice Awards, and also nominated for Book of the Year by the Book of the Month Club.  The book is being translated into French, German, and Turkish.

Kathleen Kent

Kathleen Kent is a New York Times bestselling author and a two-time Edgar Award Nominee for her contemporary crime novels, The Dime and The Burn. The Washington Post writes of the series, “Raymond Chandler praised Dashiell Hammett for taking crime fiction out of the drawing room and into the streets.  With Betty Rhyzyk, Kathleen Kent brings those mean streets to life as excitingly as anybody has in years.”  The third Det. Betty book, titled The Pledge, will be released Nov. 2021. Ms. Kent is also the author of three award-winning historical novels, The Heretic’s Daughter, The Traitor’s Wife, and The Outcasts.  She has written short stories and essays for D Magazine, Texas Monthly and LitHub, and has been published in the crime anthology Dallas Noir.   In March 2020 she was inducted into the Texas Institute of Letters for her contribution to Texas literature.

Deborah Coonts

Deborah Coonts swears she was switched at birth. Coming from a family of homebodies, Deborah is the odd woman out, happiest with a passport, a high-limit credit card, her computer, and changing scenery outside her window. Goaded by an insatiable curiosity, she flies airplanes, rides motorcycles, travels the world, and pretends to be more of a badass than she probably is. Deborah is the author of the Lucky O’Toole Vegas Adventure series, a romantic mystery romp through Sin City. Wanna Get Lucky?, the first in the series, was a New York Times Notable Crime Novel and a double RITA™ Award Finalist. She has also penned the Kate Sawyer Medical Thriller series, the Brinda Rose Humorous Mystery series, as well as a couple of standalones. Although often on an adventure, you can always track her down at

Chuck Greaves

Chuck Greaves has been a finalist for most of the major awards in crime fiction including the Shamus, Macavity, Lefty, and Audie, as well as the New Mexico-Arizona, Oklahoma, and Colorado Book Awards, the CAL Award for Fiction, and the Harper Lee Prize for Legal Fiction.  He is the author of six novels, most recently Tom & Lucky (Bloomsbury), a Wall Street Journal “Best Books of 2015” selection, and Church of the Graveyard Saints (Torrey House), the six-city “Four Corners/One Book” community reading selection for 2019-2020.  Chuck’s screenwriting debut “Badwater” is currently in production in Los Angeles.  You can visit him at


Participating authors have included: New York Times bestselling author of fourteen full-length novels in the Walt Longmire mystery series, Craig Johnson; award-winning mystery & suspense writer Christine Carbo; international best-selling author of numerous novels in the Star Wars, X-Files, and Dune universes, Kevin J. Anderson; bestselling Norwegian author Jorn Lier Horst, former senior investigating officer and recent winner of the Glass Key Award for Best Nordic Crime Novel; #1 Amazon and Wall Street Journal bestselling author Barbara Nickless, and Jakob Rodgers and Lance Benzel of the true-crime podcast, Colorado Cold Case.